Help…what goes around, comes around

Recently I wrote a testimonial to support the service that supported me when I needed help. I knew I needed some way to calm the hurricane in my mind but I didn’t know how or where to get this. Help came firstly from a friend who put me in contact with the community services in the town I live in. And secondly it was from the outreach worker who had access to some amazing services. Thirdly, help came in the form of the Counsellor I ended up seeing thanks to the community service.

Over a year after I was assaulted I was asked for help in return. The manager of the outreach services needed help proving to members of the charity’s board, and their financial supporters, just how important these services are. If you’re ever in the situation where you have the chance to support such a service I implore you to. On the flip side, if you want or need counselling and money is an issue, ask around for community services that will help you get the help you need and want.

In the email I sent with my testimonial, I made a point of thanking her personally for her help. She probably doesn’t see too many people when things have calmed down after they’ve needed her help. I’ll never forget how helpful she, and her charity, were to me. When I went to her office that day, over a year ago, she even organised a huge box of free food – fresh vegetables, fish, bread, rice, peanut butter and so much more. That night was the first time in a week that I had a proper nutritious meal. It made me so grateful to live in such a supportive town with such amazing services. So when they were asking for help via a testimonial I couldn’t have been more happy to provide support for the service that helped me when I needed it most.

My testimonial went as follows (with a few details changed):
“I was lucky enough to be helped by community services when I was in my most dire need for help. As much as I, and everyone else here, loves this town, it isn’t safe from some of the evils in the world. I was sexually assaulted in August last year and it took a week before a friend referred me to these services. It was the longest, blurriest week of my life, and when I met my outreach worker some of the weight of the world was lifted off my shoulders. She was a huge help and the biggest help was assisting me to see a Counsellor. I was able to choose one that I felt safe and comfortable seeing, and was told I could change at any time if I wasn’t feeling comfortable with that particular Counsellor. She even rang to make an appointment to make it as easy as possible for me. Straight away I was worried about the cost. I had two part-time jobs, one that earned minimum wage and one that earned a couple of dollars more an hour. I couldn’t afford to spend money on something unexpected like this. I can’t emphasise enough how much this program helped me. I would hate for anyone else in a similar situation not to be able to see a Counsellor just because of money. I can’t imagine how much harder that situation would’ve been to cope with if I hadn’t had access to affordable counselling. Thank you for providing such a wonderful and necessary service.”
When you need help, ask for it. I promise you it’s there.
Leave a Reply

